Home > Windows Phone 7, Windows Phone 7 Development > Windows Phone 7 Guidelines

Windows Phone 7 Guidelines


As I am currently working on numerous projects targeting the Windows Phone 7 platform, I tought it would be nice to provide documentation and resources that I found so far:

Windows Phone 7 Design Guideline  This document is nice to read because it also includes a bit of a story related to the Windows Phone look and feel.

Windows Phone 7 Application Certification Requirements This document is a list of requirements to be met in order to deploy Windows Phone Apps to the “Market Place” (public).

A note regarding the requirements:

I am so proud of Microsoft’s decision to enforce good programming practices by preventing badly written apps to propagate to the public. Some developpers have a lot to learn by reading this!

  1. November 26, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    Is it like the “windows logo” documents (In old days with Pocket PC I mean). It was really worth it to read it. So, I will maybe read it, but I still doesn’t have a W7 phone ;).

    I hope you’ll show me the power of the phone when I’ll be in Montreal ;).

    • November 26, 2010 at 3:23 pm

      Publishing to the market place (with requirements met) is one step… which I will meet easily because I can’t stand code that “smells” (same as market place apparently 😉 )!
      I am waiting for the official “Designed for Windows Phone 7” logo program.
      But the app I am working on (if I meet the timelines) will probably win a few contests!

      You’ll be amazed by the WP7! They really focused their implementation of it!
      Down side => It’s only too bad for those who had made a lot of code in WM5 or WM 6.5.

    • November 26, 2010 at 3:26 pm

      BTW one of my MS friend said :
      “You’ve gotta try mvc 3 with r@zor!, It’s so fast … It’ll shave you off your chair….” 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

