Home > CRM > Deleted an item synched with MS CRM in Outlook. What will happen?

Deleted an item synched with MS CRM in Outlook. What will happen?


Here are the rules:

  • A contact deleted in CRM will be deleted from your Outlook only if you are not the owner.  Outlook contacts can have additional information on them that we didn’t want to lose.  Also, if you uploaded all your contacts to CRM and someone came along and deleted them and it cleaned out your Outlook, you’d probably be annoyed.  However,  if someone is cleaning out CRM, you probably don’t want all those old CRM contacts that you don’t care about hanging around in your Outlook. 

 

  • If a contact is deleted in Outlook, it will never be deleted from CRM.  There is too much risk that someone will be tidying up their personal Outlook and not realize that it might have CRM server ramifications. 

 

  • A pending appointment deleted in CRM will be deleted from Outlook.  This prevents calendars from being blocked by invalid appointments. 

 

  • A pending appointments deleted in Outlook will be deleted in CRM only if it is deleted by the owner or organizer of the CRM activity.  This prevents an attendee declining an appointment and it being deleted from everyone’s calendar. 

 

  • A pending task deleted in either Outlook or CRM will be deleted in the other system.  This avoids users working on invalid tasks. 

 

  • Past appointments and complete tasks will not propagate deletes.  As future resource allocation is not at risk, and archiving policies can differ between systems, it’s safer to keep old appointments and tasks around.

Hope this helps.

Advertisements
Categories: CRM Tags:
  1. October 26, 2010 at 10:00 am

    It brings me back memories :).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: